I'm scheduled for the 28th... Anybody scheduled for open Roux n Y?

laneygail
on 3/22/06 11:12 am - New Albany, OH
I'm getting anxious too. I'm an OR nurse and have seen a thousand of these done, but I'm still a little nervous. I'm more concerned about the diet and how soon I'll feel better. I'm having an open roux n y. I'm thinking it will feel like having a c-section (i've had 2) and that I felt pretty good after a few weeks. Any stories about post op pain and when you start feeling better?
Sandra S.
on 3/22/06 2:28 pm - Mountain Home, ID
Hi Laney! I'm scheduled for lap RNY on the same day! I wish you all the best in your surgery and recovery. I'm not so much nervous about the surgery as much as I am about my diet and nutrition intake. I know I have to be diligent about my supplements and exercise; two things that I wasn't before. Every one's post or profile I've read emphasized the importance of getting up and walking as fast as is possible. I recently (March 8) had my gall bladder removed laparoscopically and so it gave me a little taste of what to expect and it wasn't bad at all. The itching from my allergic reaction to the steri strips on my incisions was more bothersome than anything else! Anyway, I'll be looking for your posts so we can compare notes afterwards! Feel free to email me if you'd like! Sandra Sessions
pinkie
on 3/23/06 7:48 am - port murray, NJ
i am scheduled for the 28th also. up until now i was so excited and i couldn' t wait. today for the first time i actually told people what my current weight is (228) and i had 2 of them come right out and tell me that i was totally crazy for doing this, and they werent even family members. now i'am really doubting whether or not i should go through with this
BAMASWEETIE33
on 3/23/06 8:08 am - FALKVILLE, AL