Updated blog

(deactivated member)
on 11/9/06 2:56 am - PA
I've updated my blog. Its too long to repeat here. Its my first time experiencing this situation. Tell me what your opinions on it are. Kathy
RebekaA
on 11/9/06 4:26 am - Inland Empire, CA
Hi Kathy, I read your blog. I've experienced similar situations too. You're right, they are SO uncomfortable. I guess it's to be expected and really they all mean well with the compliments, but yes, it sucks b/c they're reinforcing society's views that you are invisible unless you are pretty and thin! As MO people we were ignored and shunned--now all of sudden we're worthy?! Sucks! I have mixed feelings too. On one hand it's SO rude when people who didn't ever acknowledge you before, now are all up in your face! But I try to look at it a different way and give people the benefit of the doubt--I look at it as I am more approachable now b/c people have something obvious to start a conversation with me about--my WL. Does that make sense? I think also that since I don't ever tell people I had WLS, their focus on my WL makes me uncomfortable b/c I don't feel I really deserve the credit for it. I don't know if I would be as uncomfortable if I had done it "on my own." --Probably but who knows.
robinsaxton
on 11/9/06 4:34 am - Columbia, MD
Hi Kathy. Looks good. I haven't had time to work on mine. Maybe this weekend? I posted a comment. Not sure how those so up for you so I thought I'd let you know. You have to share a picture of you in that black dress when you have your parties! Hugs, Robin
Stephanie Smiles
on 11/9/06 7:41 pm - My Town, NH